Blogger, Fashion Blogging
Comments 3

Juggling work, life & your blog.

The million dollar question. How do you juggle work, your personal and social life as well as a kick ass blog?? The answer……..It’s not easy, find out how I do it.

When I decided to start my blog about 18 months ago, I never knew how much work, mentally and physically was involved. The fact is that most people don’t know. I am going to talk to you about my experiences and mistakes so that I can help you take the easier road.

Blogging was a serious change for me, going from a stable week to week comfortable pay check to earning $200 a week working casually, moving to Sydney from the Central Coast and signing myself up to Orana Fashion Business College for the next 12 months. Digging into my savings I managed to juggle college fees and rent as well as trying to maintain a healthy life style.

For a strong 6 months I was balancing two internships (which took up two days of my week), two casual jobs (retail and hospitality), my blog and study (which are practically full time jobs on their own). It wasn’t easy, I was working 7 days a week, mostly 12 hour days, then squeezing in time for blog posts, managing social media accounts and assignments. I didn’t see family or friends for weeks on end. I was pretty much in an imaginary long distance relationship with my poor boyfriend who I live with. I got to see him for about 2 hours at night before we went to bed, then I would be up again at 4:30am. Any way this isn’t a sob story, I am extremely proud of my achievements in the past 12 months but I believe people could make it easier for themselves.

Put yourself at the top of your priority list. A lot easier said than done, I know. I would find myself having break downs because I took on way too much at once, but I thought thats how it had to be. If you are not looking after yourself, you are not looking after your wealth. Think about what type of person your are turning up to each job, are you exhausted, un interested? No employer wants to see that. I had to take a step back, I realised the amount I was working, my mind wasn’t 100% present, I wasn’t putting in the amount of effort that I know I am capable of and expect from myself.

Be intentional with your time. Have a note book, this made my blogging life a hell of a lot easier. I write down all of my ideas and inspirations as well as an estimate of when I would like to publish the post. Schedule a time that works in best with your day, maybe after dinner or your lunch break, you have to make it work otherwise your blog won’t! Set a reminder so you don’t forget.

Plan ahead. Its also a good idea to organise your personal life so your jobs don’t get in the way. Write down your meals for the week then shop, I personally thought this was so annoying but then I started to realise how much help it actually was! Believe me. Plan ahead your days off, schedule in 2 hours for your blog, whether its writing, brain storming or taking photos. Schedule in a coffee/lunch date with your good friends, this keeps your mind happy and satisfied, you need to surround yourself with your loved ones, they inspire you without you even knowing it! If you are anything like me, you may be a serious sufferer of FOMO (fear of missing out) don’t let it happen. Last but not least, don’t forget to stay active! This clears your mind, it releases happy endorphins, I often have my best ideas when I am exercising. Yes with a crazy schedule I 100% understand how hard it is to squeeze in this time, but it is SO important. I hired myself an amazing personal trainer, much to my discomfort, but it grew on me and now we are really good friends, I look forward to our weekly training sessions.

I hope my story and tips will help you along your journey, what ever it may be. Comment below any of your tips and tricks to juggling life, work and blogs, I would love to know how you all do it!

3 Comments

  1. Corliss says

    Your tips are a great help. I definitely need to work on making a better schedule and being productive in my down time. I will be starting grad school in the Fall and I work full-time at a retail store with a different schedule every week. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

